School News

  • 0 2984 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Varsity Boys Soccer Team for winning the 2016 Nebraska State Soccer Championship!
  • 0 455 Like 0 people like this
    Omaha South High Magnet, along with 3 other metro schools participated in a Student Innovation Challenge, sponsored by the DLR group. The event was an opportunity for students to display active learning, collaboration and teamwork while challenging them to address a real-world problem creatively. The Omaha South High Magnet team chose to present and recommend changing the DACA law to allow DACA students the ability to receive Federal Financial Aid. The student teams presented during the State School Board Association Conference at the Embassy Suites Hotel in LaVista on November 17 and November 18th. The Omaha South High Magnet team was chosen as the overall winner of the Student Innovation Challenge.
    Thanks to Mrs. Susan Mahoney, counselor, for serving as the staff facilitator for the student team.
    Congratulations to this creative and dedicated group of South High Packers!
  • 0 551 Like 0 people like this
    Students in Ms. Chambers' ESL 1-2 submitted essays to the "Through Our Words" Creative-Writing Contest in Spanish, hosted by UNO. The project was a joint effort between Laura Chambers and Jenny Jackson, Title 1 Resource Teacher at South.Of the students who submitted essays, 3 students placed:
    In the category of Non-Ficition Narrative, Grades 9-10, Lázaro Alexander Contreras won 1st place with his piece titled "El Viaje de Mi Vida"and Antonio E. Velásquez earned an honorable mention for his piece titled "Guatemala Y los Estados Unidos". (These are the students pictured in attachments.)
    In the category of Non-FIction Narrative - Grade 11-12, Juana Feliciana Xiquin Velásquez won 2nd place (shared) with her piece titled "La Diversidad".
  • 0 372 Like 0 people like this
    The South High Film Program was recently featured on KMTV 3 News. Click here to check out the video!
  • 0 471 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Powerlifting Team!
    Girls took 1st Place Overall and the Boys took 3rd.
    Team Members include (individual medals in parentheses):
    Enrique Ochoa (1st), Adrian Perez (1st), Daniel Montoya, Braulio Ochoa, Nate Hughes, Evan Gaskill, Christian Martinez, Omar Valadez, Axel Cervantes
    Niyo Fulgence (2nd), Josiah Stout, Nathan Blackman
    Jonathan Stout, Oscar Robles (5th), Darrick Smith (4th), Dominic Smolsky, Vince Huerta (2nd), Aleidy Aguirre (1st), Cristina Lara (1st), Margarita Rodriguez (1st), Susan Sanchez (4th), Ericka Lopez (2nd), Elsa Ramirez (2nd), Alondra Rangel-Avila (2nd), Cecillia Benitez, Sarai De La Vega (5th), Brandi Sorgenfrei (1st), Jackie Dominguez (2nd), Nicole Rodriguez (1st), Nasia Olson-Whitefeather (1st), Areli Diaz (3rd)
  • 0 277 Like 0 people like this
    The following Math students placed at the PSU Math Relay Competition:

    6th place: Algebra Word Problems Team (Jennifer, Manuel, Eduardo, Jonah),
    4th place: Calculator Team (Eduardo, Andriyana, Ana, Joel),
    4th place: Trigonometry Team (Ana, Joel, Andres, Kaleb),
    4th place: Functions - Jennifer,
    3rd place: Programming - Kaleb,
    6th place: Trigonometry - Joel,
    6th place: Logic and Set Theory - Kaleb,
    3rd place: Marathon - Jonah,
    4th place: Marathon - Eduardo
  • 0 122 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Melissa Peterson for receiving the Outstanding Educator Award at the 2017 Nebraskans for Civic Reform Strengthening Democracy Awards!
  • 0 70 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Mr. Wiener, who received a 2016 Distinguished Teacher Award from the National Council for Geographic Education.
  • 0 125 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Kimberly Talamantes for receiving a 2017 Alice Buffett Outstanding Educator Award!
  • 0 153 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Ailyn Chaidez and Isabel Garcia-Jaramillo whose film "Perception" received 1st Place in the Art/Experimental - High School category at the 2017 Elkhorn Valley BEA D7 Film and Media Conference. Their film was also selected as Best in Show for the High School Division. Their film can be seen on the Film Studies & Production YouTube channel - Click Here.
  • 0 172 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the SHS Staff of the Month recipients, for 2017!
    Group #1
    Group #2
  • 0 136 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to South High Advanced Filmmaking students Luis Arenas, Kevin Guevara, David Moya, and Parnell Walton whose film "The Hitchhiker" placed 8th out of 26 teams, and received an award for "Best Use of Prop" in the Omaha Metro High School 7-7-7 Film Championship. These students had just 7 days to write, shoot, edit, and submit a short film using a list of required elements. Their film will be available to watch on the South High Film Studies and Production YouTube channel in the near future.
  • 1
    0 98 Like 0 people like this
    Film 3-4 Students David Moya, Zack Hunter, and Anthony Mondragon had films screened at the 2018 Elkhorn Valley BEA D7 Film and Media Conference.
  • 0 98 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Kevin Barratt, who was presented with the Outstanding Theatre Educator Award at the annual Theatre Arts Guild celebration. The award is presented to an individual for outstanding achievement in theatre education, honoring those who “enhance others’ knowledge, skills, understanding, and enjoyment of the live theatre arts.