School News

  • 0 3003 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Varsity Boys Soccer Team for winning the 2016 Nebraska State Soccer Championship!
  • 0 2506 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Venessa Rodriguez for receiving a 2016 Nebraska Young Artist Award!
  • 0 1867 Like 0 people like this
    Congrats to the Girl's Cross Country Team who were Second in Their District and qualified for State Cross Country. Additional congratulations for Trevor Ramsdell who also qualified for State!
  • 0 1857 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Boys’ Varsity Soccer Team for their win at the Smoky Mountain Cup tournament in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.
    Click Here for more information.
  • 0 1837 Like 0 people like this
  • 0 1404 Like 0 people like this
    Click to read more at the WOWT website!

    And Support the Luvabulls via GoFundMe
  • 0 1017 Like 0 people like this
    South High JROTC Raider Team at Leavenworth Kansas 3rd Overall out 16 Regional Teams, 1st place Fitness, 1st place Obstacle Course, 2nd place 10k Run, 3rd place Rope Bridge, 3rd place Gauntlet, 3rd place Litter Course.
  • 0 909 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Gage Kresl, Tyler Julich, Jonah Schmipf, and Miguel Mayorga who placed in the Central High School Chess Tournament
  • 0 878 Like 0 people like this
    South JROTC Marksmanship Teams finish 1st place in both Varsity and Junior Varsity league matches.
  • 0 795 Like 0 people like this
    Oct 23rd - Lenovo presented Omaha South with technology devices that will allow our Academy of Finance and Academy of Information Technology teachers to work with students in developing apps around finance and technology. Omaha South teachers Lana Yager and Lucas Hartman, School Board Member Anthony Vargas, Lenovo Team Members, and National Academy Foundation members talked with students about opportunities that technology allows them to pursue. Omaha South was the only school in the Midwest to be selected to participate in this initiative.
  • 0 699 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Lady Packer Powerlifting Team who took 1st Place at the State Powerlifting Meet in March!
  • 0 589 Like 0 people like this
    SURFACE PROS IN THE HANDS OF SHS TEACHERS -- Omaha South teachers were trained on 10/9 by Microsoft representatives to use technology devices to help enhance and improve student engagement in the classroom.
  • 0 587 Like 0 people like this
    Fashion Design 5-6 students Terry Spevak and model Sahsha Lovermi, display dress made by Terry at Omaha Fashion Week in August 2015
    See more about it on the OPS Focal Point "A Focus on the Fine Arts"
  • 0 567 Like 0 people like this
    Students in Ms. Chambers' ESL 1-2 submitted essays to the "Through Our Words" Creative-Writing Contest in Spanish, hosted by UNO. The project was a joint effort between Laura Chambers and Jenny Jackson, Title 1 Resource Teacher at South.Of the students who submitted essays, 3 students placed:
    In the category of Non-Ficition Narrative, Grades 9-10, Lázaro Alexander Contreras won 1st place with his piece titled "El Viaje de Mi Vida"and Antonio E. Velásquez earned an honorable mention for his piece titled "Guatemala Y los Estados Unidos". (These are the students pictured in attachments.)
    In the category of Non-FIction Narrative - Grade 11-12, Juana Feliciana Xiquin Velásquez won 2nd place (shared) with her piece titled "La Diversidad".
  • 0 534 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Maricruz Mora-Becerra for being selected as Complete Athlete University's Complete Athlete of the Month!

    Click Here to read the article.
  • 0 488 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to the Powerlifting Team!
    Girls took 1st Place Overall and the Boys took 3rd.
    Team Members include (individual medals in parentheses):
    Enrique Ochoa (1st), Adrian Perez (1st), Daniel Montoya, Braulio Ochoa, Nate Hughes, Evan Gaskill, Christian Martinez, Omar Valadez, Axel Cervantes
    Niyo Fulgence (2nd), Josiah Stout, Nathan Blackman
    Jonathan Stout, Oscar Robles (5th), Darrick Smith (4th), Dominic Smolsky, Vince Huerta (2nd), Aleidy Aguirre (1st), Cristina Lara (1st), Margarita Rodriguez (1st), Susan Sanchez (4th), Ericka Lopez (2nd), Elsa Ramirez (2nd), Alondra Rangel-Avila (2nd), Cecillia Benitez, Sarai De La Vega (5th), Brandi Sorgenfrei (1st), Jackie Dominguez (2nd), Nicole Rodriguez (1st), Nasia Olson-Whitefeather (1st), Areli Diaz (3rd)
  • 0 487 Like 0 people like this
    Over 450 students had the opportunity to work with Wells Fargo team members, learning about the importance of Financial Education and Establishing Credit.
  • 0 469 Like 0 people like this
    Omaha South High Magnet, along with 3 other metro schools participated in a Student Innovation Challenge, sponsored by the DLR group. The event was an opportunity for students to display active learning, collaboration and teamwork while challenging them to address a real-world problem creatively. The Omaha South High Magnet team chose to present and recommend changing the DACA law to allow DACA students the ability to receive Federal Financial Aid. The student teams presented during the State School Board Association Conference at the Embassy Suites Hotel in LaVista on November 17 and November 18th. The Omaha South High Magnet team was chosen as the overall winner of the Student Innovation Challenge.
    Thanks to Mrs. Susan Mahoney, counselor, for serving as the staff facilitator for the student team.
    Congratulations to this creative and dedicated group of South High Packers!
  • 0 461 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Maricruz Mora-Becerra - selected as the Runza Student of the Week!
    See the video!
  • 0 449 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Aguek Arop who was selected as the 2016 Nebraska Boys Basketball Gatorade Player of the Year. Click here for details!
  • 0 433 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Maya Northcutt for taking 8th place at Girls Golf Districts and qualifying for the State competition - a Packer first!
  • 0 387 Like 0 people like this
    The South High Film Program was recently featured on KMTV 3 News. Click here to check out the video!
  • 0 367 Like 0 people like this
    South High Filmmaking students earned awards at the 2016 Elkhorn Valley Film and Media Conference this past weekend. Isabel Garcia, John Coate, and Victor Barron-Zuinga took 3rd place in the High School Short category, Paola Corona took 2nd place in the High School Art/Experimental category, and Julianna Rodriguez won 1st place in both the High School Art/Experimental and High School Short Film Categories. Their winning films can be seen on the South High Film Studies & Production YouTube channel. Click Here
  • 0 323 Like 0 people like this
    Congratulations to Mr. Tripp and Mr. Weisser who received 2016 Alice Buffett Outstanding Teacher Awards!